White Carrots & Purple Potatoes

31 Jul

Recently one of my friends introduced me to a local Farmer’s Market. It was the picture  perfect setting of local farmers displaying colorful fruits and vegetables. Farmer’s Markets are a great place to introduce yourself to new fruits and vegetables!

Growing up in the south, most of my family kept a garden. I remember running through the asparagus patch with my brother. There were asparagus plants taller than we were. After running around in the sun, we would break off a piece of asparagus and munch on it for a snack. My dad always had the most amazing tomatoes. Juicy plump tomatoes of all sizes, not like the tasteless varieties we buy at the grocery stores. Fresh snapped green beans were usually there for us to help Mama Jenkins snap. Fresh veggies, were always a part of our childhood. Now it seems that veggies have morphed into being a side dish that we HAVE to eat. And if were gonna eat it, we have to cover it in butter and goodness, never serve me a veggie without salt. (I am embarrassed to even write that, but it’s the truth and most of my friends are the same!)

Our lifestyle at this point doesn’t allow me to plant a garden. It would definitely suffer from drought and neglect, but I do have an alternative! Visiting a local farm or Farmer’s Market is a great alternative! I encourage you to become more knowledgeable about the food your eating. If you think about it, 100 years ago, most people knew exactly what where their food came from and how it was grown. Most of us have decided that our food comes from the grocery store, but that is not the case. Food growing has become industrialised. Nutrition value of fruits and veggies have been compromised in order to grow it bigger and faster and make it last longer.

So I am working into this. I must admit, I went to the grocery store last night. But when I can, I am going to buy local Farmer’s Market fruits and veggies as much as I can! I encourage you to do the same!

Here are three reasons to try out a Farmer’s Market

  • Become more knowledgeable about what veggies are in season!
  • Fresher, cleaner fruits & veggies~ avoiding genetically altered fruits & veggies.
  • Support local Farmers

The Story of the White Carrot

Once upon a time there was a princess who was enjoying a veggie dish. She was particularly enjoying a white vegetable that she had never tasted before. Wanting to see this mystery vegetable again, she asked her friends if they knew what it was. All were puzzled by this scrumptuous vegetable. After further inspection, the princess decided it must be a carrot! She was so excited to declare her new found veggies to her puzzled friends. “I know, it’s a white carrot!”, she said, to which her friends simply replied, “Carrots are orange”.

The truth is there are white carrots! There are so many varieties of veggies we never try! Venture out a little people! Try at least one new veggie a week and see what you discover! Who knows, you may even find purple potatoes!

Leave a Reply

