The First Rule of Fat Club

29 Jul

Now before you get offended allow me to explain…

The first rule of fat club? You do not talk about fat club.

You don’t ever ask a woman her weight right? I wouldn’t talk about my weight with anyone, what was really bothering me never came out of my mouth. I wanted to tell everyone, it’s not okay to be this unhealthy! I think (oh people please don’t get mad) one of the most awful things I hear from people, my own self included, is they swear they ate healthy all day, but yet gained 5lbs. How does this work? Like my wise brother-in-law says, it’s simple. If you eat more calories than you burn,  you are going to gain weight no matter what.

Let’s break the mold people! I’m not going to allow myself to be caught in the trap of being okay with being obese. I want to break the mold… I want to be fit and healthy! I want to be able to ice climb, or go surfing, or rock climb. Now I know your thinking, “baby steps Jen”, but I am telling you if I don’t have the end goal in mind I will never reach it. Do you think that being able to run a mile without passing out is really important to me? Not so much. But being able to climb a glacier, that sounds amazing and enticing.

I came up with 3 Rules to this journey

Rule #1 Count Calories – If your like me I have spent the last 10 years not paying attention to what I eat. I have to re-learn what is healthy for me and counting calories is a great way to become familiar with what is healthy for you or not. If you start paying more attention to what you are eating, you are slowing down enough to think about what you are eating before you eat it.

Rule #2 Be Accountable – Lucky you, you are my accountability. For some it may work to just be accountable to yourself, but I am just sayin, it is easy to sneak a bite of cookie dough when no-one is looking.

Rule #3 Have Fun – I love having fun! If I am not having fun, I generally am not happy. So throw a little fun into the mix! Have fun~  Go walk around Disneyland, go to the beach, walk around the mall in the AC! Keep it light and don’t be too hard on yourself mentally! Surround yourself with people who are encouraging and educate yourself!

So let’s talk about it!

What are your goals? Your fitness dreams for yourself?

4 Responses to “The First Rule of Fat Club”

  1. Cynthia July 29, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    I need a really big “LIKE” button just for the title of this one!
    😀
    Now I’m going to read it!
    I joined the Y. I worked out yesterday, did sprints and stuff today. OUCH. Really. OUCH!! It feels great though.

    • Cynthia July 29, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

      Oh and Baskin Robbins have these sugar free candies…cookies and cream and mint cookies and cream…they are delicious!

  2. Cynthia July 29, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    By the way, I’m telling all our mutual friends about shrinking jen…lol

Leave a comment