Muffins… Cake in Disguise

28 Jul

“Muffins… their nothing but cake in disguise, especially these double chocolate-chip type muffins.”

This was the Tweet I woke up to from Tanya Zuckerbrot, founder of Skinny In The City. Being hungry this morning as I sipped on my coffee (with FF creamer & splenda) I thought I would do a little research on breakfast. Now we all know what people say is healthy for breakfast, egg white omelette, fruit, Greek yogurt, etc… but what are some of the hidden land mines we can hit early morning that will just blow our diet right out of the water? I came up with a list of 5

5 Top Breakfast Land Mines

1. Over-sized Smoothie – Many of us opt for smoothies in the morning, but making (or purchasing) a smoothie that is over-sized, packed with more sugar than a pint of ice-cream, can blow your sugar right out of the water. Take for instance a Mango Smoothie from a well know chain… the large size has 570 calories and 125g of sugar! While the smoothie itself it healthy, the size and balance of fruit is off.

2. Granola Bars – Granola sounds healthy right? It does to me, I envision healthy outdoorsy people eating this stuff right out of their backpack while on a nature hike. While granola is a great pick-me up for people who are active, it can have as much sugar as a candy bar if you get the wrong kind. Look for bars that are not processed and don’t have added high-fructose corn syrup. Kashi has some great ones with less sugar than their competitors.

3. Fruit & Yogurt Parfait – Where is the danger in fruit parfait? It’s just fruit and yogurt right? Most parfait have full-fat yogurt topped with fruit that is coated in a sugar based filling and preservatives. Think ‘pie filling’ on top of yogurt…. you get the picture.

4. Heavy Omelettes – Omelettes are a great breakfast in the morning, loaded with protein and stuffed with veggies they are perfect, but stuff them with the wrong fillings and you’ve got a grenade on your hands! I was doing research for this blog and read a recipe for a Velveeta Omelette… I am not even going to go there with how unhealthy that is! But you get the idea, fill your omelette with processed cheeses, red meat like steak and cook in full- fat butter is not the healthiest way to go in the morning. Think things through when you are cooking. Opt for a cooking spray, egg whites, low-fat cheese and veggies. This is a great breakfast.

5. Coffee/ Lattes – If your like me, sometimes you want to skip the breakfast and just drink the coffee. I actually bought into this. I would drink a latte from my favorite shop every morning for breakfast. By lunchtime I would be starving and still end up over-eating for lunch. I would have been better off pairing my morning coffee made with FF milk & splenda with a balanced breakfast. I would have still gotten my coffee and not had the extra calories of eating more at lunch.

Learning why certain foods or combinations are unhealthy will help us create a deeper awareness of what we are doing for our bodies. No more cakes in disguise for me. I am not going to be in denial about what I am eating any more. I am going to think about every thing that I put into my mouth for what it really is. What is it’s makeup? Is is healthy???

What are some of your favorite healthy breakfasts? I need ideas!

You may be asking why the cake Jen?? Because this is the real world baby! What are you going to do when you go down to the kitchen and there is a ______ (fill in your own weakness here) big fluffy white cake staring you in the face…

I would smash it with a hammer, that’s what I would do.

8 Responses to “Muffins… Cake in Disguise”

  1. Amy July 28, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    I eat plan oatmeal with dried berries in it (yes like Starbucks) and Love it!

    • shrinkingjen July 28, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

      That sounds yummy Amy!!! xoxo

      • Angel July 28, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

        That’s right Jen!! You smash it with a hammer! LOL I love that!

      • shrinkingjen July 29, 2010 at 11:07 am #

        Angel! LOL!!! Let’s just hope none of those bits of smashed cake land in my mouth… hahahaa

    • Casey Forte July 29, 2010 at 5:56 am #

      i like to eat a banana with a spoon of peanut butter…. it leaves me full till 1030 when i have a handful of almonds!!! yum

      • shrinkingjen July 29, 2010 at 11:07 am #

        Ooooh! I like that Casey!!!

  2. Cynthia July 29, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    I’m so tired of the usual breakfast routine…I want to know what they eat around the world.
    I’m sure you’ll probably tell me that I probably don’t want to know…but yeah, I do.
    (you find me a tasty, and reasonably sanitary, idea for Florida cockroaches, I may just take you up on it…LOL. No, I’m not going to eat cockroaches, as far as you know…)

    • shrinkingjen July 30, 2010 at 9:00 am #

      Hmmm.. Well, in Thailand we ate alot of rice and things like that… in Malaysia we had alot of fruit because it was easy to keep where we were staying! There’s also rice porridge. But out there, it seems that you burn food off alot faster. It is hotter outside and you are way more active! I lost 15 pounds and ate like a horse!

Leave a Reply

